Tavira and Praia do Barril in pictures

We had a bit of a double whammy with the weather and me being sick, but we still managed to get out and see a little of what the eastern Algarve had to offer (after going to Tavira’s mall and buying winter coats).

Tavira was a lovely town; with the weather it was pretty quiet, but we could tell it got pretty crowded in the warmer months.

IMG_0609 IMG_0611 DSC_0157 DSC_0150 DSC_0154 IMG_0612After grabbing some decent Indian food for lunch (right next to Aquasul), we headed to Praia do Barril, a beach near the town of Santa Luzia. In this part of the Algarve, most of the beaches are on islands. To get to Praia do Barril, you can take a funny little train or walk along the tracks. We’re the walking type, so that’s what we did.

DSC_0158 DSC_0160 IMG_0618 IMG_0628The waves were so beautiful and the ocean so clear and tempting…until we got our feet wet. Brrrrr!

This entry was posted in Portugal, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tavira and Praia do Barril in pictures

  1. Cheryl in NC says:

    Playing catch up this morning, and so glad I am! Wow, what beautiful photos and what an amazing place! The architecture and expansive views have gone straight to my heart in a very uplifting way (especially the one of the hottie on the boardwalk, lol!! There, now we’ve all been uplifted! 🙂 That sky in the first shot. Wow! So cool! And I can almost smell the ocean and feel the mist from those waves! Great shot! Haven’t been to the beach since I moved from LA 12 years ago! Now I suddenly miss it. But hey, what’s the story with those pick axes, I wonder? Weird but fascinating! Thanks for sharing. 😀

  2. Cheryl in NC says:

    Yes! Very cool!! As to NC, I have heard the ocean is lovely here and look forward to seeing it one of these days. Sad thing is, I used to make a 4-hour drive to Santa Barbara and back in the middle of the night just to clear my head (did my best thinking while driving), and even drove here from CA! But now, the thought of a 4-hr drive to the coast just makes me want to curl up in bed with my snuggly! But I WILL make the trip one of these days, and hopefully soon. Your photos have reminded me how much I love the ocean. 🙂

I would love to hear your (nice) comments!

