Slow Cooker Beef Chili Stew

I consistently order the bison stew meat from US Wellness Meats. I blame Jan’s Sushi Bar for this fantastic recipe, which keeps me ordering stew meat despite the fact that I have made her recipe a zillion times and cannot make it anymore. So my new mission in the kitchen has been to come up with a use for bison stew meat. Last week’s adventure was a beef curry thing that was disgusting (you’re welcome for not posting it). This week, I asked good ‘ol Sally for help. Sally Fallon that is.

Nourishing Traditions is a book I bought when I was still making most of my recipes from websites like Vegan YumYum and 101 Cookbooks. I wasn’t a vegetarian anymore, but I still cooked like one. I bought Nourishing Traditions, thinking, “this book is going to change my life.” And though I rarely make recipes out of it, it was the first step in my real food journey.

So, this recipe is a modified version of Sally’s Beef Stew with Chilies. It is so tasty and nourishing. Avocado and hot sauce complete the deliciousness.

Slow Cooker Beef Chili Stew

2 lbs of stew meat (I used bison)
juice of 2 lemons
2 1/2 cups broth (I recommend making your own)
1 1/2 white onions
3 carrots, chopped
2 cans green chilies (4 oz each)
3 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed
2 tsp epazote (or oregano)
1 1/2 tsp cumin
2 T fish sauce (Red Boat, of course)
salt
hot sauce and avocado for garnish

Marinate the beef in the lemon juice overnight. Grab your slow cooker and throw the drained beef, broth, onions, carrots, chilies, garlic, spices, and fish sauce inside. Sprinkle with salt (you can taste it for salt after it cooks). Put the slow cooker on low for 12 hours.




Serve with sliced avocados and hot sauce. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Dinner, Recipe, Weston A Price Foundation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slow Cooker Beef Chili Stew

  1. love the addition of green chiles in this stew recipe!!! Can’t get enough of them 🙂

  2. Amy says:

    I wish it weren’t going to be summertime hot here this week – I want to try this recipe asap!!

    I just made for the 2nd time an adaptation from the Rogan Josh recipe in Well Fed, using beef instead of lamb. First off I halve her recipe, and then I add 1C chicken broth and 1/4C tomato paste after browning my 1# of meat. I’m sure you could slow-cook it; I use a pressure cooker b/c I am impatient. Toward the end of cooking, so they don’t get too mushy, add a slew of sliced carrots and cabbage. With the rogan josh spicing, it was (modestly, I say…) spectacular. We served over cauli-rice to take full advantage of the sauce. I’m sure bison would work as well – the trick of course is to cook the hecks out of it so it is fall-apart tender.

I would love to hear your (nice) comments!

