A post where I talk about myself

I suppose I have wanted to do an updated “about me” post for a while (or any post, really), but finding time blah, blah, blah. There may be some new readers from my tweeting frenzy at Paleo f(x) (hi, welcome, i love you!) and maybe I just feel like talking about myself. Whatever the reason, let’s get down to it.

I have exciting news. I will be starting my M.S. in Nutrition and Functional Medicine next month. This is a huge move for someone who took forever to decide what she wants to do when she grows up (someone like myself). The program looks amazing, difficult, and perfect for me. I am guessing it will somewhat determine the content of this blog in the upcoming months. I can’t wait to get started and see where this thing takes me!

Now a little about me: I am a late bloomer. I never knew what I wanted to do when I grew up. At NAU, I majored in Environmental Science because it was interesting. I have always been obsessed with the ocean, as most land lubbers are, so after graduating and a brief stint as a ski bum in CO, I started saving money to pursue a career in marine biology (oh biology, where you have to work for free before you can work for $8/hr to then go to grad school to then write grants for a living. Sigh.). I volunteered in BC on a grey whale research team and fell in love with working on a boat. When that was done, I received an internship with Sarasota Dolphin Research Program, out of Mote Marine Lab. I was hired as a staff biologist after a couple months, and worked on various projects there. I loved many things about my time there (working in flip flops!), but I couldn’t handle the sexism and hoop-jumping. I turned down a graduate assistantship at FSU and moved to the most opposite place of FL I could think of, Bozeman, MT

In Bozeman, I worked in a bakery, restaurants, for a wolf biologist (I blended up elk poop to look at the effect of wolves on elk cortisol levels!), and for Yellowstone Park Foundation. Most importantly, I met my husband, TDL, in Bozeman. We moved to Bend, OR together. I changed my mind about several professions after applying to the respective grad programs: acupuncture, naturopathic medicine, physical therapy… As soon I hit “submit” on the application, I would realize I didn’t want that career in the first place. As a graduate school applying expert, I can recommend an excellent book that anyone applying to grad school (esp. in the sciences) should read: Getting What You Came For by Robert Peters. This thing was my bible for all these applications. Its shortfall is that it can’t make the decision for you.

Wedding Day

TDL and I got married in a courthouse outside Joshua Tree, finished up some coursework, moved our stuff into a friend’s basement, and went on a 3 month honeymoon in Central America. When we got back, TDL got into nursing school so we moved to Flagstaff. And here we are.

 

In Guatemala

I talk about my food journey more here, but I thought it might be nice to properly introduce myself. There’s always more to tell, and I would love to hear your stories too. My reasons for having this blog is to have a voice in this real food community, something that I have not yet fully achieved, but I am willing to be patient.

 

 

This entry was posted in About me and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A post where I talk about myself

  1. jorgekix says:

    You’ll get your voice, keep plugging away and being awesome 🙂

I would love to hear your (nice) comments!

