Working on my weaknesses…

I just returned from the Weston A Price Foundation’s Wise Traditions conference in Dallas. Weston A Price was a dentist in the 1930’s who, mystified with the dental issues of Americans, traveled the world in search of isolated traditional societies whose citizens enjoyed excellent health. He found many such societies, and found that they all ate traditional diets, lacking in processed foods, refined sugars, and industrial oils. His teachings led to the formation of the Weston A Price Foundation (WAPF) in 1999. The WAPF is

    “dedicated to restoring nutrient-dense foods to the human diet through education, research and activism. It supports a number of movements that contribute to this objective including accurate nutrition instruction, organic and biodynamic farming, pasture-feeding of livestock, community-supported farms, honest and informative labeling, prepared parenting and nurturing therapies.”

    Basically, the conference was a science/nutrition geek’s dream come true. Seriously. The first day I had to restrain myself from running around and screaming with joy at the abundance of kombucha, bone broth, like-minded genuinely nice people, and learning (oh the LEARNING!).

    The conference convinced me I need to do more to make myself PART of this real food community. It is one thing to practice in my own home and share my knowledge with my friends and family and patients at work, but unless I get myself out there, I will feel isolated and alone. I want every day to be like the conference, so I am taking some steps to make it so.

    1) I am the new local chapter leader for Flagstaff’s WAPF. I will get out of my shell and do my best to make the Flagstaff chapter an active, nurturing, fun source of local, real food. Look, I already have a Facebook page (with 5 friends, most of whom are my family!).

    2) I will write blog posts when the desire strikes me. I will not be disheartened by the overwhelming amount of fantastic blogs with beautiful pictures and intelligent posts already out there. I will not be disheartened by my under-whelming number of post views. I have something to contribute (it certainly is not pretty pictures!) and I think having a blog is a good way to become part of this community.

    3) I will work on the real food recipes that intimidate me. Some examples are: making kombucha at home, fermenting vegetables, making kefir (are you seeing a fermented food-trend?)…

    4) I will work on eating the real food things that scare/disgust me. Some examples are seafood (seafood has been a life-long struggle for me, but at the conference I ate smoked sablefish and did not vomit), liver, chicken feet, tongue, and other offal…

    I just have to remember not to talk myself out of something before I give it a chance. Three years ago, before I started this eating clean madness, I ordered Sally Fallon’s book Nourishing Traditions. I remember thinking “this book is going to change my life.” But every time I thought about cooking something out of it, I got scared. I was still grossed out by handling meat and just getting used to cooking simple things like pasta. I thought about making bone broth, but couldn’t. I made excuses. I said it was too hard. Then, one day just a couple of months ago, I threw a chicken carcass in my crockpot with filtered water and a splash of apple cider vinegar. 24 hours later I had bone broth. The easiest thing ever.

    So, to summarize, try things you are scared of, that seem too hard, that don’t seem worth it. Because, if you don’t, you may be stuck buying bone broth when you could be making it for free.

This entry was posted in About me, Health, Weston A Price Foundation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Working on my weaknesses…

  1. Pingback: Asian Scallion Meatballs and Nourishing Seaweed Soup (with my ugliest food photos to date!) | Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

I would love to hear your (nice) comments!

