Chwelah- which I presume is Nepali for spicy shredded paleo chicken deliciousness

This is hands-down my favorite thing to do with chicken.  It is so simple, and so flavorful.  My recommendation is to prep everything in bowls before turning on the heat, so I organized the recipe accordingly.  From Oregon Live.

Chwelah (Spicy Shredded Chicken)

1 T ghee or coconut oil
BOWL 1
1/4 tsp fenugreek seeds (easily found in the bulk spices section- crucial ingredient)
BOWL 2
2 T melted ghee
1 serrano or jalapeno chile, sliced into strips 
BOWL 3
1 small yellow onion, sliced
BOWL 4
1 lg garlic clove, mashed into a paste
2 tsp finely chopped ginger
BOWL 5 (are you out of bowls yet?)
1 Whole Rotisserie Chicken (lazy version.  If you eschew laziness, roast your own.)
1 T ground cumin seeds 
a small pinch sea salt
BOWL 6
1 T lemon juice
BOWL 7
1/2 cup sliced green onions

Prep ingredients into bowls, as listed above.  Your kitchen should start to kind of look like this:

Cooking Dirty

Add the 1 T ghee or coconut oil to a wok and heat.  Add BOWL 1 and fry until the fenugreek seeds until they darken a bit (1-2 minutes).  Add BOWL 2 (chili and ghee) and saute for 10 seconds.  Add BOWL 3 (onion) and saute 3 minutes.  Add BOWL 4 (ginger and garlic) and saute for one minute.  Add BOWL 5 (chicken!) and stir to evenly distribute the goodness.  Add BOWL 6 (lemon juice) and saute until chicken is hot.  Add BOWL 7 (green onions) and fry for a couple more minutes.  Let someone else deal with crazy amount of dishes you just created and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Dinner, Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chwelah- which I presume is Nepali for spicy shredded paleo chicken deliciousness

  1. Cheryl says:

    Normally I hate it when people comment before they’ve tried a recipe, but I’m gonna break my rule here to just say this does sound “incredible”! Too bad I’m on a severely restricted animal protein diet right now for a kidney problem, or I’d be all over this (and probably the other way around!). But it doesn’t sound like something I could easily “portion control.” 😦 Thanks anyway for the sharing, tho’. Who knows? Maybe someday. 😀 And in the meantime, I’m learning to enjoy recipes vicariously! So g’night, and thanks again for a delicious night!

  2. Cheryl says:

    Oh, btw, found your site via a comment you left on SimpleSunshine re gf banana bread, and only just noticed you haven’t posted since June 2011. Hope you won’t give up. I loved your recipes and commentary and am sure others will as well. Sometimes it just takes time for them to find you. 🙂

    • Thanks for all your comments, Cheryl! I have been short on time and trying to figure out where I want to go with this blog thing, so I appreciate your reading and your motivation. Maybe I will get back into it, thanks to you 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    Must. Try. This.

    …. and, I love my Epicurean cutting board so much I would kiss it on the mouth. If only it had one. 🙂

I would love to hear your (nice) comments!

