Grain-free pancakes

I call pancakes “pannekoeken” because of the Beastie Boys song Super Disco Breakin’:

“…sometimes I like to brag, sometimes I’m soft-spoken, and when I’m in Holland, I eat the pannekoeken…”

Now, I have been to Holland, and I have eaten the pannekoeken, and I know these are nothing like Dutch pancakes.  But I don’t care, the Beastie Boys make me happy.

Paleo Pannekoeken

I found this recipe on Spunky Coconut (love the name) and went crazy on it.  These are thick, filling, and maybe the best paleo pancakes I have made…

6 eggs
1/2 cup almond flour (I use Trader Joes)
1/4 cup mesquite flour
1/2 cup coconut flour
2 tsp vanilla (you know I used more)
1/4 tsp sea salt
1 1/2 T coconut crystals 
2 T coconut oil
1 cup coconut milk (Whole Foods brand, organic, full-fat is my preference)

Do I need to write directions for making pancakes?  I don’t feel like I have any special insight on the cooking of pancakes so I am going to assume you all know what to do with the above ingredients after you blend them (I used an immersion blender to get the batter nice and smooth).  Enjoy!!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipe, Treats/Snacks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I would love to hear your (nice) comments!

