A non-recipe, or, what we ate for dinner

Do you ever throw together a meal with so little thought or effort that you are surprised when it tastes delicious?  I am such a recipe-follower that I can never believe it when TDL pulls of these amazing dishes with no thought.  So here it is…

There's a reason the blog isn't called "living clean, cooking pretty"

Greek Lamb Goodness

1 lb ground lamb
1 chopped white onion
1 lg minced garlic clove (this will change how you feel about mincing garlic)
1 T harissa (secret ingredient.  Make it yourself or be lazy and buy it)
1 T dill (we used dried)
1 diced tomato
1/4 c kalamata olives
2 T capers
Zatar
EVOO 

(there was no measuring involved with this recipe but I included approximate measurements for OCD folks, like myself)

Heat EVOO in a cast iron skillet, add onion and garlic and stir until fragrant.  Then add harissa and lamb and cook, stirring.  When lamb is almost done, add dill, olives, capers, and tomato and cook until lamb is completely cooked.  Sprinkle with zatar.  We served over lettuce, with baked kale chips.

As an aside, can I say how much I enjoyed this blog post from Free The Animal about the optimal human diet and individuality.   This comment on the post rang true for me:

Steve // May 20, 2011 at 23:17

I think what happens to many of us is … We discover a diet that works really well for us and it’s such a profound life changing event, that it’s easy to become an evangelist for what worked. If you go from being weak and tired and fat to lean and healthy and strong, I think it’s not only natural to try and share what worked, but also to assume that if others aren’t doing what worked for you, then they must be doing it wrong. You get so wrapped up in your success that it hardens your opinions. Likewise if someone lost weight by taking up running, for whatever reason, I think it would be natural for them to assume that people who are overweight should run, regardless of whether their approach would work for others, or is healthy or optimal. It’s difficult to really put yourself in someone else’s place and realize their body may not act the same way as yours. And it’s not only genetics. It’s past behavior, activity level, health, etc… Someone who’s 100 lbs overweight and has a serious case of fatty liver disease and hyperinsulinemia due to a very poor diet high in sugar, is going to need a different approach than a body builder who’s 20 lbs overweight from a summer of bulking and who now wants to cut some body fat for a contest.

This entry was posted in Dinner, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A non-recipe, or, what we ate for dinner

  1. Cheryl says:

    Hi! Thank you so much for the delicious-sounding recipes I’ve discovered here so far. I wish you much success with your new blog, but it’s looking great so far! Also wanted to comment re the optimal diet issue that there is a wonderful test one can take on Dr Mercola’s blog (mercola.com) to determine which of 3 metabolic types one is. Sounds like you are a “protein type,” which is why this diet is working so well for you. My daughter, OTOH, is a “carb type” who does poorly with meats & fish in general and feels better with cheese and grains and lower protein in general (but high carbs, esp veggies). And I, who always ate fairly “healthfully” but still managed to gain 100 lbs I couldn’t seem to lose, have discovered I am a “mixed type,” who was eating so much more protein — animal and otherwise — than I needed or my body could process that I managed to damage my kidneys with it (among other things, of course)! Since converting to a lower protein, very LOW animal protein, gluten-free non-dairy diet high in veggies about 3 weeks ago, I am now losing a pound a day and have more energy than I’ve had in years. So I completely agree with the idea of individuality in what works for each of us and am just very grateful to Dr. Mercola for bringing metabolic typing to my attention!

I would love to hear your (nice) comments!

