My story

I guess I could tell you about how I came to be the clean eating freak that I am today.  I think my story is a little different; I was always a skinny kid so I have no amazing before and after pictures to show.  But changing my lifestyle in the way I have has changed the way I feel in such a significant way that I wish there were some convincing pictures to summarize it.

Alas, all I have is words.  I was a vegetarian for as long as I can remember.  I am not even sure why.  I guess I like to be different, and being a vegetarian was unique back in the day (I thought).  I swam competitively but never gained muscle, despite 2 workouts a day and 3 weight sessions a week.  My coaches would yell at me about protein consumption.  I fainted a lot.  I was always hungry, and in addition to the fainting episodes, I would be mean, dizzy, and irrational when I was hungry.  I had bad acne.  Since I was three, I have had severe cold sores (please be nice- this is not easy to talk about).

Eventually, I gave up the vegetarian gig (if you are wondering why, it was moving to Montana and having access to bison, elk, deer, etc).  But I still ate “healthy:” a little meat, lots of veggies and fruit (but not as much as I eat now!), and cheese and whole grains as far as the eye can see.  I never bought into the lowfat thing (the benefits of being skinny).  I still fainted, had acne, cold sores, and severe hypoglycemic episodes.

Then, I started working (at a brewery of all places) with a coach from Crossfit Oregon (in sunny Bend).  I could not understand why he refused to eat whole grains, and so I dove into research.  Still only pseudo-convinced, my husband talked me into joining Crossfit.  I loved it, and decided to give up the the sugar, gluten, and legumes.  I started gaining muscle for the first time in my life, could go for hours without eating and feel great, the fainting and hypoglycemia stopped, and my acne started to get better.

I had a relapse when we went on our 3 month homeymoon in Central America (beans and corn and cheese, beans and corn and cheese), but it was worth the amazing trip.  Since getting back, we have been eating cleaner than ever, including my new obsession with coconut oil.  I have not had a cold sore since getting back, despite stress and sunburns (usual triggers).  TDL (the husband) and I have not been sick since getting back, despite working in medical offices surrounded by sickos.  We sleep better.  I get a zit every once in awhile, but no more acne!  And my hypoglycemia is gone.

So what do I eat that has “cured” me?  Meat, butter, eggs, coconut oil, EVOO, tons of veggies, some fruit and nuts: Real Food (read about it here, here, here, and infinite more).  So that’s my story; I’d love to hear yours.

This entry was posted in About me, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My story

  1. Pingback: A post where I talk about myself | Living Clean, Cooking Dirty

I would love to hear your (nice) comments!

