Mesquite Flour/Coconut Flour Banana Bread

Look, I remembered to take a picture!

Despite growing up in the mesquite-filled Sonoran desert, tonight was my first experience cooking with mesquite flour.  A bag of the pricey flour was given to me by a co-worker, and I took it as a challenge when she told me “see what you can do with this.”  The inter-webs tout mesquite flour as a “gluten free super food,” but the main ingredient in all the recipes I found online was wheat flour.  Helpful.

Now, I have no idea of the actual health benefits of mesquite flour (you can google it and decide for yourself), but I think it made a pretty tasty addition to this coconut flour banana bread from Peace Love Nature.  I was surprised at how spongy and real-bread-like this turned out (perhaps from the mesquite flour? or perhaps I have been paleo for too long and forgotten what real bread tastes like?).

Here’s the recipe:

Mesquite/Coconut Flour Banana Bread

2-3 very over-ripe bananas 
1/3 cup pastured butter, plus more for pan
6 eggs
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon vanilla
1/4 cup coconut flour
1/4 cup mesquite flour
1 giant tablespoon cinnamon (my theory is more cinnamon, more vanilla, always)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder

I used a potato masher to mash the bananas and then to combine the melted butter with the eggs, bananas, vanilla, & honey.  Add flour, cinnamon, salt, baking soda, & baking flour.  Grease a 9 x 5 bread pan, then pour in batter.  Bake at 350° for about forty minutes, until a knife comes out clean.  Serve slathered in coconut oil, fresh out of the oven, and enjoy while trying not to burn your tongue (at least that is how we do it around here).

This entry was posted in Recipe, Treats/Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mesquite Flour/Coconut Flour Banana Bread

  1. Sarah says:

    Mesquite flour, eh? I’ll have to give it a try. 🙂

  2. Pingback: What Does The Paleo Diet Entail

  3. kehaulani zdvoracek says:

    how many servings did you get from the recipe, i/4 cup of each flour does not seem as if the loaf would serve too many slices and did it rise to the top of the pan

    • kehaulani zdvoracek says:

      are there some ingredients missing from this recepie as i/2 c total of the mesqute and coconut flours does not seem to logically be enough to make the bread. should there be another type of flour or is the size of the baking pan too big I really want to make this bread as I love both mesquite and coconut s well as the coconut oil which is the only oil I use a speedy reply would be greatly appreciated, Mahalo

      • Hi! It’s been over two years since I made this recipe (not because I didn’t like it, but because mesquite flour is expensive), so I will try to answer to the best of my ability 🙂 I am fairly certain that the quantities are correct. I based it on the recipe from Spunky Coconut (as linked above), and I just checked, and she uses the same amount of flour. Keep in mind, you are using a lot of eggs and bananas as well. As far as I remember, it does not go to the top of the 9×5, but it still tasted fantastic and had a lovely consistency. I just moved to an area where mesquite is prolific, so I am hoping to pick some up at the farmer’s market and give this recipe another go. And if you try it, please let me know your results! Cheers!

  4. Pingback: Guide to Superfoods & How to Use Them - Happy Body Formula

I would love to hear your (nice) comments!

