My first recipe. Homemade tropical Larabars.

I cook a lot.  It wasn’t always that way.  I used to despise cooking.  Growing up, it was a fend-for-yourself mentality- no one cooked.  My friends made fun of me for our empty fridge.  Also, I worked at restaurants, and when I was not working, I wanted to be served (I am a snot).  I was also a vegetarian, but that is another blog post.

Then, I met TDL (my husband) who came with all this cooking “stuff” (garlic press!  cast iron!  zester!) and a love of cooking.  We cooked together and I started to enjoy it.  I would find recipes for the week, then we would shop and cook together.  Then, we started doing crossfit, went paleo, and my obsession with food reached a level where I suddenly became someone who people came to for recipe advice.

This is my first recipe.  I hesitate to put it out there (what if no one reads it, what if no one likes it, what if I get a hard time because it isn’t very paleo….) but I have to post something on this blog.  So, homemade Larabars.  Definitely a treat for those of us who eat paleo.  This is more of a recipe I make for other people.  But it’s pretty damn good.  The other Larabar recipes you see on the inter-webs don’t have coconut oil, which I think is a tragedy: everything should have coconut oil.  Everything.

Tropical Lara Bars

Larabars are great for a quick snack.  Unfortunately, store-bought larabars are pricey.  So I came up with this recipe for my favorite flavor.  Use the ratios of dates:nuts:oil to make any flavor you please.

1 cup pitted dates (If your dates are hard, soak them in a little water for a couple hours).
1 cup cashews
½ cup almonds
3 rings of no-sugar added, unsulfured dried pineapple
¼ tsp orange zest
1 tsp freshly squeezed orange juice
1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes/chips
1 cup melted coconut oil
small pinch of sea salt

Throw all ingredients in a food processor/vitamix and process until ingredients come together and achieve a paste-like consistency.  You now have the option of forming it into bars or pressing it into a jar/dish (or just eating it out of the food processor).

This entry was posted in Recipe, Treats/Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My first recipe. Homemade tropical Larabars.

  1. Cheryl says:

    Love your writing style, btw. Forgot to mention that in my earlier comments. Entertaining and totally charming. And you make your life together sound the same.

  2. Amy says:

    Am spending part of my Saturday evening googling important questions (e.g., alcohol) about the Whole30/paleo lifestyle I’ve convinced my (whole-grain/legume-lovin’/bagel-devoted) husband to eat along with me for the next 30 days… his schedule requires an eat-on-the-walk-between-classes snack 4x/wk. Dropped $150 at the co-op today, a not-insignificant portion of it on, yes, Larabars. Recipe = hurrah! Thanks for the fun & informative posts!

    • Hi Amy! Thanks for reading, let me know how the larabars go. I remember starting out on my paleo journey- it really helps to have your spouse there with you so it is awesome that he is going to give it a try! Let me know if you have any questions; I have been through it all, especially the eating-on-the-go part.

  3. Amy says:

    Wanted to let you know I finally made the bars today — with of course the necessary adjustments of what I had on hand, e.g. apricots for some of the dates — and husband announced he prefers the texture to Larabars! Zow. Thanks for the recipe — it’s going to be a staple ’round here. He likes lemon so I thought I’d try lemon zest/juice next time… maybe a smidge of ginger?? yummmmmm…

I would love to hear your (nice) comments!

